"Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter
Play It Like It's Music
"It's irresistible to me, I wouldn't want it any other way"
0:00
-36:14

"It's irresistible to me, I wouldn't want it any other way"

066: Nathan Gillis

Good morning! This is Play It Like It’s Music. I’m Trevor, thanks for listening.

On Wednesday, December 2 of 2020 Music is not content! It’s connection.

I skipped a week last week. Did you notice? We were too busy cooking food over here (that we’re still eating since it was a tiny gathering).

I’m gonna make this quick today. I’ve got some work going down over here, and I’m also getting ready for an interesting gig I’ve got online tomorrow so there’s not much to say except I’ve got some walls to paint and am looking forward to getting that done.

We will soon be streaming some video, and I hope to eventually get it to look halfway decent. I’m pretty happy with the sound lately.

I was recently on a songwriter zoom call where Angela Parrish (from Ep. 37) convened some of her favorite writers. This guy Nathan Gillis blew us all away, just dropped timeless gem after timeless gem - he reminds a lot of people of Prine and for good reason.

I just couldn’t get him out of my head - the level of craft that this guy brings in Colorado Springs is a marvel. I had to reach out for an interview.

He was kind enough to share some rough demos of a couple songs, there’s no album polish but the muse is there in full effect. I’m just gonna duck out here and let him tell us a little something about what music means to him. This man is a true inspiration.

Quick ask: if you believe this show deserves a wider audience, please tell a friend:

Share "Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter

Without further ado, here’s Nathan Gillis.

It’s an honor to have him on the show.

Press PLAY above to hear my conversation with Nathan Gillis.

Or subscribe in your podcast app: Apple Podcasts - Spotify- Stitcher - TuneIn - Overcast - Pocketcast

Thanks for listening to Play It Like It’s Music. Thanks so much to Nathan Gillis for spending some very generous time with us. You can find his band on Facebook, other than that there’s no web presence to speak of. Which fits!

I can’t believe we’ve gotten to 66 shows! If you believe this show deserves a wider audience, please tell a friend:

Share "Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter

Follow me on twitter @trevorexter and talk to me on there if you have thoughts about the show.

We're all contending with a mutating professional landscape, jacked revenue streams, a catastrophic global pandemic and plenty of other noise out here.

But you gotta keep playing:

We don't draw any lines here between scenes or styles.

As always, thank you for listening and remember to play it like its music.

You can check out my music on bandcamp and other places. It’s all at my website, trevorexter.com. Sign the mailing list on substack to get this show sent right to you the very moment it comes out.

Music is a beautiful thing and it makes the world go round.

Big love to your ears.

Trevor

(Did you press play yet?)

.

.

.

Do you like this stuff? Please help it grow by sharing it!

Subscribe now

"Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter
Play It Like It's Music
Purists may whine that the best days of music are behind us, that capital “M” music has seen its peak and is no longer relevant. But here at Play It Like It's Music we believe the opposite: not only is the act of musicmaking an essential life skill with a lineage stretching back to the beginnings of human history, but the vocation of the professional musician is more vital today than it ever has been. Once a month, join musician, songwriter and producer Trevor Exter as he drops in on working musicians from every genre.