"Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter
Play It Like It's Music
A guy inside my head
0:00
-4:02

A guy inside my head

The move, part 2 with musical reflections

[press play]

song: “Hudson”

[music & lyrics c. Trevor Exter - all rights reserved]


got a guy inside my head who doesn't like me

can't stand my type, my band, my sign

but you seem to handle me just fine

I've got the wings, just need the wheels

show me something

something that'll make me feel

I seek to belong but also to control. I want delight but also health. Tension much?

I want to feel safe but also powerful, so cello is the perfect instrument for me because you know it's never gonna go perfectly.


I got a love the size of the sun

that could boil the ocean

rose above I've not, no prizes won

see I'm just one

your mind is a window, body is the sky

can't live without the one

without the other you won't ask why

We do the long tones to make the sound warm and fluid. I've also been dusting off my bounce matrix - that thing is hard to execute in real time.

Honestly, most of my practicing is to address my own feelings, an effort to feel safe in the face of potential mistakes and to make a compelling (i.e. powerful) sound.

We forget that the cello drill is not taught so that we can feel good, but so that we can do the cello job.

But what if...


why keep it to yourself

can't be someone else

don't keep it to yourself

talk is cheap inside a shell

What if, when we played the cello we got to feel the way a listener wants to feel when they hear the cello?

(warm, emotional, thrilled)

What if we could benefit from our own musical medicine?


I got a g-d follows me around, saving my hide

though I tried slippin away

you know it ain't fake tonight

here in this house of love

got to do things right

some day I'll run clear in the light

That's my goal, which partly explains why I've done so little performing lately. Not only is cello hard and awkward to play, but booking and promoting gigs can often run counter to the real work of music, which among other things is healing.


why keep it to yourself

can't be someone else

don't keep it to yourself

talk is cheap inside a shell

In order to heal a listener, the musician has to first heal themselves. And I've been engaged in some deep healing of late.

But the songs are about ready to burst.

They've been doing their job for me, so I'm starting to think about trying them out on you.

I'm looking forward to a release (it's still very far away).

But I will be booking a show soon.

Promise.

Thanks for all your notes last week. Big ups, keep em coming.

Love,

Trevor

.

.

.


If you appreciate my work, it’s in these other places too. Please help it spread by sharing it:
0 Comments
"Play It Like It's Music" by Trevor Exter
Play It Like It's Music
Purists may whine that the best days of music are behind us, that capital “M” music has seen its peak and is no longer relevant. But here at Play It Like It's Music we believe the opposite: not only is the act of musicmaking an essential life skill with a lineage stretching back to the beginnings of human history, but the vocation of the professional musician is more vital today than it ever has been. Once a month, join musician, songwriter and producer Trevor Exter as he drops in on working musicians from every genre.